Difficulties of being the foreigner

No matter how much I may try, living in a foreign country and learning a new language has been difficult. Although the majority of Icelanders speak English, I still find my ability to socialize problematic on occasion. It turns out being able to speak the language is the best means of making friends. The problem is simple conversation has gone from being effortless to alarmingly demanding.

For instance, I may be able to understand anywhere from 5-50% of what people say when speaking Icelandic to one another.  As a result, when I’m ‘partaking’ in these conversations I normally zone out, or try and piece together the words I understand. This has resulted in some awkward moments. The below scenario is but one example of a conversation backfiring.

Mastering the ability to make friends has become a formidable task as a result. It turns out its not easy! Deep down I just want to just go up to people and ask them to be my friend. Then again, I’m not even sure this technique would work back in Canada.

So how does one balance the urge to make friends with some communicative shortfalls? I have no clue… I guess it’s just one of the hurdles of moving to a new country. All I know is I’m not about to give up. I just wanted to get the word out that it’s not easy! Then again I haven’t tried to buy any friends with candy. Maybe luring new friends with candy is the answer 😉

About Ninja Kitties

I am as deep as an ocean...
This entry was posted in Comics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Difficulties of being the foreigner

  1. Anonymous says:

    This is one of my favourites! If anyone is up for a challenge it is you

  2. dad says:

    Just take Luftiduf out for walks and meet dog owner friends.

  3. dad says:

    PS. we will send you sour keys,try that.

Leave a Reply

